thinking big

Our children are away at camp, so last night my husband and I had a Wednesday date for dinner and a movie (“Crazy, Stupid, Love” — highly recommended).  At dinner, he said, “Do you have any goals for this coming school year?”

And with that, I was off.

  • I want to have a clean desk.  Every day.  I’m going to have to rethink a lot of things about storage and daily routines, but it would be so great to have a clean desk.
  • I want to reduce clutter in the classroom.
  • I want to have a class binder that has all my important info in one place, including…
  • …my lesson plans, which I still want to figure out how to do on the computer.  I want to come up with a sort of spreadsheet/chart that blocks off the hours in the day, where I can write what we will be doing each chunk of time.
  • I want to be better at teaching rhyming and alliteration.
  • I want to write more repeated interactive readaloud lesson plans.
  • I want to make time to do the RIRA discussions every week.
  • I want to do water science with the water table.  I planned on doing it last year, but didn’t get around to it.
  • I want to work on teaching vocabulary, and continue working on creating my own set of vocabulary cards.
“So, resting on your laurels, right?” he joked.
It’s August, and my time at home is slowly vanishing, but I am starting to get in the right mindset.  I think I will be happy to go back, when the time comes.
4 thoughts on “thinking big

  1. Oh, a clean desk sounds so fabulous. I think I manage it about once a week, at best. Good luck!

    I do have a lesson plan format that I print out each year with blocks the way I want them. Of course, I have to change it several times in the first few weeks, but after that it works wonderfully!

    Thanks for such a great list. It’s an inspiration both to make my own list and in the ideas here.

  2. I have a Mac and do lesson plans in iCal. I set each subject/time block to repeat daily or weekly until a normal week is always filled in with generic headings, then I type individual plans in each block as I go. If you don’t have a Mac you could do something similar in Google Calendar.

  3. Have you thought about having a smaller desk and more shelves? That way you can sort your things on the shelves. Have an in and out tray works well. Your table will then blend in with the room more and you can decorate it too? I agree, less clutter is important… helps me think and the children appreciate it too.

  4. Oh, I so want to have a clean desk too. I hate it when it gets cluttered. One of my main goals is to organize my lesson plans to have a master lesson and then just add or take out things as necessary.

Leave a Reply

