interior decorating

I’m not really into cute.  My blog isn’t filled with cute ideas.  I’m more interested in children’s literature, curriculum that actually has content, and making the most of the time I have with the children than I am in cute stuff.  And I didn’t go into teaching early childhood because “the kids are so cute,” even though they are, most of the time.

Having said that, I am completely jazzed about the fall (already!  and school just got out!) because the afternoon teacher and I have decided to collaborate on redecorating the room.  Several years ago I chose green as my theme, because it is a natural color and is very soothing and calming.  So I had green bulletin boards and borders, green baskets, green tubs, green notebooks, lots of plants, and so on.  Then I had to share the room with an afternoon teacher, so Miss Mellow and I added blue to color code things; my class stuff was green, hers was blue.  With the new afternoon teacher (I should give her a nickname!), we sort of kept that up this past year, but her heart wasn’t in it.

After going out to lunch last week, and planning out all our themes for the new year, we started chatting about the colors of the room, and she admitted she really likes bright colors.  Through Pinterest, I’d found the website Schoolgirl Style, and showed it to her.  We agreed that we liked the Carnival theme, and so that is what we are going to go with.

Turquoise, red, orange, lime.  Schoolgirl Style was inspired to design the Carnival theme by the Dots on Turquoise border at Creative Teaching Press.

So this morning, after dropping a kid off at camp, I stopped by a teacher store and bought just about every single thing they had in the Dots on Turquoise line.  Tomorrow or the next day, I’m going to do something I’ve never done before in early summer, and will go back to school and start working on new bulletin boards for the classroom.  I haven’t bought the Carnival stuff yet from Schoolgirl Style, but it’s just a matter of time.

I think it will be worth it, because having a colorful, stylish room will be energizing for the teachers, and welcoming for the kids and their families.  I’ll show photos in August, when it’s all ready to go!

Leave a Reply

