Their pockets overfloweth

At the end of the morning, at story time, I asked my Spanish-speaking volunteer to help A. and C. with their colors, out in the hall.  They are both smart, eager boys, but for some reason, learning the colors in English has been really hard for them.  As A. got up from the meeting area to walk over to our volunteer, a bunch of legos fell out of his bulging pockets.

At that moment, the special ed teacher that I team-teach with came back in the room.  “Ali!” I said, “Can you read the story?!”  She could, of course — thank goodness for Ali — and I took A. by the hand and marched him to the assistant principal’s office.  There I had him empty his pockets.  It was like Fibber McGee’s closet.  The AP and I could barely keep from laughing when we saw how many legos the boy had taken.  He just kept reaching his hand in and pulling out more and more legos.

We found out the C. had put him up to it, so after A. was informed that we would be calling his mom, and he would be losing recess (and of course, after we explained why it is wrong to steal things from school), I fetched C. from working on colors in the hall with the volunteer. 

“C., did you tell A. to steal legos?”

“No,” he said.

I switched tactics.

“Why did you tell A. to steal legos?”  I asked.

He shrugged, as if to say, well, I don’t know.

“Empty your pockets, please.”

Guess what?  More legos!  Back to the AP’s office I went, this time with a different boy in tow.

The whole incident was interesting because A. is the wilier one.  I would have thought he was the one behind the plan.

Leave a Reply

