What children like to read most

There was an article today about what children read most often, listed by grade level.  I was surprised by how prosaic the list was, and realized that these are the books that teachers (and children) are so familiar with, we hardly notice them.

Green Eggs and HamIf You Give a Mouse a Cookie, Are You My Mother?….I read all these books to my students.  But I realize that I rarely spend much time actually thinking about them.  These are the fruits and vegetables, the necessities of a healthy reading diet.  I admit I am more likely to spend time on the dessert — Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and No, David! and Punk Farm and Traction Man is Here! (Note all the exclamation points?  That says something right there.)

So hooray for the classics, the every day, working-hero books.  I was glad to be reminded of how much children love them.

One thought on “What children like to read most

Leave a Reply

