conundrum

Last Monday when Amelia Bedelia (our new special ed assistant) was in the room, Leo was fine.  He didn’t want to do his work, and she wouldn’t take no for an answer — in the nicest way possible — so he sat down, and with her help, he did some of the work. 

On Tuesday when Miss Nelson was in the room, Leo ran away from Art (who wouldn’t? — but again, that is a topic for another post) and nearly gave her a heart attack.  Back in the classroom he flopped on the floor and wouldn’t join us at all, let alone do any work.

On Wednesday when Miss Nelson and I took the class to the local library for story time, Leo ran behind a rickety wall into a space where children are definitely not allowed to go.  Twice.  He would have gone a third time but I grabbed him and said, “that is NOT okay.”

On Thursday Miss Nelson and I had a few minutes to talk without kids around, and she said, “Leo is totally falling apart.”

On Friday, Amelia Bedelia couldn’t be there, so it was just me and my assistant teacher…..and Leo was fine.  He participated, he did his work, he was fine.  Of course, she had to read him some pirate stories one-on-one, and I had to sit with him to help him do his work, but basically he was fine.  Was it because I was so busy and I just treated him more or less like everyone else?  And I’m relatively strict and wasn’t going to take no for an answer?  Was it luck?

So.  What do I tell Miss Nelson?  You’re the expert on special education but when you’re here he’s a mess and when you’re not, he acts like a different child?

2 thoughts on “conundrum

  1. We have this problem with our kiddos as well, and I have to realize that sometimes my being there does hender them. Kids know what it takes to get attention from certain people. I make sure I’m teaching lessons or doing read alouds just like their teacher and I also do a bit of ignoring the behavior that is intended for my attention. Once the kiddo knows that I’m not going to come over and tell him to be quiet he usually quiets down. (It just takes going through that painful first moments of ignoring the behavior so the child will know I’m really not coming over there.)
    I’m trying to think how I’d like to be approached about the situation if I didn’t already realize it. I think saying, “I’ve noticed he really does a lot to get your attention. What happens if we ignore it today?” She doesn’t know what it’s like when she’s not there, so she doesn’t know it is any different.
    Good luck! You two sound like a great team though, so it sounds like you’ll work through it.

  2. I agree with organized chaos on this one. He may be seeking her attention, or he may feel too controlled by her attention. Who knows what is going on inside those little minds, LOL. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

