teachers have too much work to do

This is nothing new to other teachers out there.  But sometimes teachers just have too much to do, and it starts to grind us down.

I had a morning free to do paperwork.  This is a gift, I know, and many school districts don’t provide this kind of time.  So I do feel lucky in that sense.

However.  I came in after doing parent conferences for both my sons, and almost immediately started feeling too exhausted to be at work.  This cold I’ve had for the past week is an evil one; I’m tired and weak and lightheaded much of the time.  So working — and concentrating — was a real effort.

Here are some of the things I have to get done by next Friday:

  • finish the report on a formal observation I did
  • turn in all my paperwork on the observations I’ve done
  • write a lesson plan for the formal observation someone will soon be doing on me
  • finish my class assessment portfolios
  • write 18 report cards
  • fill in all the assessment scores on the district data website (for a second time; I did it this morning and then the system crashed and nothing was saved)
  • write my lesson plans for next week, when we begin patterns in math and sea animals as our main content theme
  • prepare to do Text Talk lessons each day next week
  • visit each 1st grade classroom during reading and then meet with each 1st grade teacher to support them in transitioning fully to a balanced literacy plan for reading
  • and more, only my brain is too tired to remember

I got only a small fraction done this morning.  I don’t know how I’m going to manage next week.

5 thoughts on “teachers have too much work to do

  1. I am trying really hard to spend fewer hours on the weekends or in the evening on class work but it is hard. When you are in your classroom or even after class hours but still at the school, there are too many interuptions. I am also a director and I am always trying to find ways to give my teachers more time for this kind of work.

  2. Sheeesh!

    I go in early but refuse to stay late or take anything home. If it can’t be done in that amount of time then it just doesn’t get done. When an administrator asks for something back that I haven’t gotten to, I show her my schedule and ask her/him When? Surprisingly they often help me out by either moving something around to make the time or delegating the task to someone else. Maybe you can get someone else to re-upload the district data at least.

    Good luck!

  3. I too have a lengthy to-do list… I teach in high school ESE (special education) and am a co-teacher. I teach 6 out of 7 periods and the 7th is required co-planning. I also have a case load of nearly 30 students and am expected to monitor their accommdations, goals, and do reports and blah blah blah… the list just for last week covered a full sheet of college rule paper. It was all case management stuff. We are not provided any case management time and it is expected we will still get it all done (translation… in our personal time). I used to run ragged. It impacted my family… and my health. I no longer do that. I go in early (as early as 5:30 or 6 AM) and I sometimes stay as late as 4:45 (daycare closes at 5:00) – but usually leave closer to 3:30. Usually, I take nothing home. Difficult to do work at home with a toddler there. I HAVE very recently gone to work on the weekend. But I seldom do that. If teachers banded together and only put in “reasonable” personal time on work, the districts would be forced to make changes.

Leave a Reply

