more parent conferences

I’m done with parent conferences, sort of.  Yesterday I had a cancellation and a no-show, and today I had a cancellation and a no-show.  Both cancellations were rescheduled for Monday, so now I need to come in early and stay late.  Plus evening conferences were cancelled due to inclement weather, so now I wonder what is going to happen with the four conferences I missed.

Princess’s mother came.  I couldn’t believe it, but I was delighted to see her.  I figured since Mom is so skittish, I’d keep things really positive, and there were plenty of positive things to say.

My favorite conference was the one I did with Lola’s mother.  She barely speaks English, and I barely speak Spanish, and no interpreters were available when she arrived.  We went ahead anyway, and it was easy to show Lola’s mother her work, and praise it.  Lola is a sharp little cookie, and I learned from mom that they read every day, and practice with scissors, and review the letters and sounds!

Finally an interpreter showed up, so I was able to talk to her mom about the fact that Lola almost never speaks English, and she really needs to be braver about trying.  She’s really bright, and not speaking English is kind of holding her back.  Mom agreed, and said she would see what she could do to encourage Lola to speak up. 

When she left, she said through the interpreter, “I really enjoyed our conversation.”

Me too, Lola’s mom, me too.

3 thoughts on “more parent conferences

  1. You teach preschool, right? I wouldn’t be overly concerned about English speech production at this point. I’ve seen many almost silent ELL Kindergarten students who practically won’t shut up come first grade. She’s right where she should be: in a language-rich environment she can comprehend and soak up like a sponge.

  2. Our Pre-K conferences were this week also. Mine are next month. I always get so nervous. I want to be as positive as possible, but I also don’t want to skip over anything. One of those skills that improve with experience.

Leave a Reply

