what needs to be done before school starts

I met with the afternoon teacher — I’ll have to think of a good nickname for her — and she’s great.  Down-to-earth, sensible, articulate, friendly, mellow, self-confident, interested and interesting.  So phew, no more anxiety dreams!

She has lots of teaching experience, but none with preschool, so she had a long list of questions for me.  One thing she requested is a to-do list for getting ready for the first day.

I can think of a few things:

  • send out school supply letter
  • plan ice cream social for the preschoolers at the park (ask principal about dates, so he can be there too)
  • buy/write/put up name tags for the cubbies (morning and afternoon!)
  • get furniture in the right place
  • organize/set up art shelf, which has always been a mess
  • organize/set up desk (also, to be shared by two people!)
  • put up new bulletin board paper and trim
  • put up job charts
  • put away all the stuff I bought over the summer, and the stuff I brought home (but never used!)

What things are going on YOUR to-do list?

4 thoughts on “what needs to be done before school starts

  1. I love to do lists!!!

    do my bulleitn board
    print off welcome letter, first day fears, schedule, calendar, newsletter, parent volunteer, and giving tree forms
    label toys, cubbies, folders
    organize desk, top shelf
    make job chart, center cards, center pockets
    clean trash can!!

  2. Finish arranging furniture
    Finish nametags (about half a jillion!)
    Mail out welcome letters
    Set up my computer
    Print off Kinder Camp materials for parents
    set up blog (new class website)
    Clean off the countertop of doom
    Clean out/neaten closet and bathroom storage
    Do lesson plans!!!

    Whew…doesn’t look as bad all written down–oh wait, yes, it does 🙂

    BTW, I liked your description of your afternoon partner. Why not call her Mrs. Mellow?

  3. My to-do list is long, but I’m checking things off. 🙂 I’ve been working hard. My assistant teacher and I got together today to divide up the work. I have set-up day the 31st, orientation the 2nd and I start teaching the 9th. It’s coming up fast!

    Good luck with getting through your to do list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

