checking in

This is a snuggly class.  They are constantly touching me.  I call it “checking in.”  A child comes up to me, holds my hand for a minute, and then runs back to play.  Another child comes and leans on me for a while, and then when he leaves, another child comes over for a hug.  They don’t even talk about it, they just come and get their little snuggle, and off they go.

We read “Snuggle Wuggle” today, and I told them that we were reading it because they are so snuggly.  A few of them then proudly announced that they were planning to snuggle me at recess.  And sure enough, several children came over to me at different times to lean on me.

4 thoughts on “checking in

  1. I, too, have a very snuggly class this year, which makes me laugh because they are some of the worst behaved babies I’ve had in a long time. I feel like all I do all day is reprimand them, and yet, they can’t get enough of the hugs and snuggles. Tells me they really need them….which may explain some of the behaviors, huh? 😉

  2. I have a snuggly afternoon class. They just want to hug and touch me. I don’t mind it. But I am having to teach them when it is an ok time to get up and hug the teacher. They are bad also. They are very disruptive and talkative. They even hit each other. But turn around and give me the biggest hug they can find.

Leave a Reply

