did I speak too soon?

When I picked up my class from Music, the student teacher, Mr. K., said that Cherry and her best bud Chutney were awful.  They wouldn’t listen to him, wouldn’t follow directions, turned the pages of his book (when he was trying to read it), played with the window shade, hid behind the risers, and shoved each other when they finally got in line.  I looked at them, and you would not believe what they said.

“He’s lying!” they chorused.

I apologized to Mr. K and took the kids back to our classroom.  I had a student teacher from another classroom with me, because she wanted to observe me for an hour or so to see what preschool is like.  Back in the room, another teacher came to observe (she’s another mentor and will be doing a formal observation of me in the next month, and wanted to get a feel for my room).  She was beaming from ear to ear about how wonderful preschool is, and how great my class is, and I was just thinking, “the stinkers!”

I called both girls’ mothers, and left messages asking them to have their daughters write apology notes tonight for us to give to Mr. K. tomorrow morning.  I mentioned that accusing a teacher of lying is very disrespectful behavior.

We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “did I speak too soon?

  1. Ah – my last two days have been an echo of yours – P for progress and precious, and then P for precocious, persnickety, pain-in-the-neck! Of course having Halloween breathing down our necks hasn’t helped. I can’t celebrate it in my classroom either but the kids are exposed to it from every classroom in the pod around us. Hope November brings some winds of change.

  2. I was so glad to find your site. Love the comments!
    I teach music to K – 6th. They never fail to amaze me with the outrageous behavior and comments. People don’t believe me when I say the little K’s somtimes just fall over out of their chairs. If you get a chance, check out my site, and the page, Humor ar school. I’m sure you will be able to relate.

Leave a Reply

