“At last, I have found my people!”

Today’s New York Times Book Review has an essay about young adult novels, and the actual adults who love them.  There is a high-falutin’ book group in Manhattan called Kidlit which includes many literary luminaries, and one woman who stood up at the end of the first meeting (about The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, where Turkish delight was served) and shouted, “At last, I have found my people!”

I have yet to find “my people” here where I live — most of the adults I know are puzzled and amused by my love of YA novels, Miss Slinger and all the members of my book club included.  But love them I do.

Some of my favorites are The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart, Just Listen and Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, the Mortal Instruments trilogy by Cassandra Clare, Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (although I hated its sequel, Linger), the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer (may I add that I discovered Twilight before it became famous and simply loved the book on its own merits), the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, the His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman, and An Abundance of Katherines and Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green.

Anyone else out there one of the tribe?

14 thoughts on ““At last, I have found my people!”

  1. Definitely! I think The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks does an amazing job of capturing the politics and double-binds of being a girl, without ever lecturing. This summer’s great reads for me have also included The Lost Conspiracy (fantasy with several cultures interacting and interesting premises) and Ten Cents a Dance (historical fiction that feels natural, not like it’s deliberately teaching you or setting itself as Historical Fiction).

    • Holly, I love the way you’ve summed up Frankie. I thought it was an amazing discourse on power, and how the power you hold is affected by your race, class, or gender. It’s on my top ten favorite books of all time list. I haven’t heard of the other two you’ve mentioned, but will have to look them up.

  2. Fellow tribe-member! I get the weirdest looks reading and buying YA novels…am I a pedophile, casing the kids section? Am I a very young mother with a teen at home? I have read many of the books you mentioned, and am working on the third Mortal Instruments book right now. The others are going on my wish list! Have you read the Eragon series? Or The Invention of Hugo Cabret? We need to start an online, YA book club…new books, old books, anything goes 🙂

    • Blossom, you know, I don’t even bother to look up when I’m in the YA section of the bookstore. (Once I was stuck at B&N with my 9 year old son for almost an hour while he browsed at leisure, and I stood in the YA section and read an entire novel that I wouldn’t be getting from the library for another few months because of its long waiting list. That was kind of awesome.) Stand tall! You know you’re not alone now! I haven’t read the Eragon series, because I’ve read enough criticism of it that I’m not too sure I’d like it. I did pick it up once and couldn’t get into it. I have read Hugo Cabret and thought it was great. Did you know they are making a movie of it?

  3. i do read ya novels, and i love lois lowry, but at heart i am a fan of the pigeon, eloise, olivia, and fancy nancy. they are my people.

    hhmm, interesting how your tribe tells a lot about you…and your teaching style.

      • i think outside the box, am told my classroom is too loud, love to do things the way that others say they shouldn’t be done, and try to use glitter every day. i tend to be assertive. and i hope that i don’t annoy.

        see any resemblance?

  4. I am your people! I love YA novels, which worked out great when I was teaching 5th grade… now am teaching 1st, and while I loves me a good picture book, it’s hard to come up with an excuse to buy from the YA section of B&N now.

  5. I am a K-4 librarian who loves your blog…and I’m a ‘tribe member’! Can’t wait for the 3rd Hunger Games to come out!

Leave a Reply

