a pencil sharpener that will not make you lose your mind

There is an old-fashioned pencil sharpener in my classroom.  I have forbidden the children from using it.  The thing is loud, falls apart easily (dumping shavings on the ground), and is a big distraction.  If they were allowed to use it, the kids would be over there all the time, fighting for the chance to use it, and sharpening our pencils down to little stubs.  So when they walk over there, looking hopeful, I say, “Sorry, guys, that’s for grown-ups only.  Please put your pencil in the needs-to-be-sharpened cup and grab another one from the pencil basket.”

I used to have an electric sharpener, that I bought myself, but it died and I haven’t felt like laying out the bucks for another one.

Enter Troy Decoff, who runs a website called Classroom Friendly Supplies.  He sent me his Quietest Classroom Pencil Sharpener to try out.  (Yes, this is the first time I have ever gotten blog swag, and may I say, it was very exciting.)

There are two drawbacks.  It came with a screw thingy which would presumably allow one to clamp the sharpener to a surface, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure it out.  No matter, holding it with one hand, and turning the handle with the other (the pencil is being held in place by a built-in clamp) works just great.  The other drawback is that I don’t actually find it much quieter than my old one.

BUT.  I don’t care!  This pencil sharpener grabs my pencil, sharpens it perfectly, and then stops at the right second.  It’s not possible to sharpen a pencil down to the eraser with this sharpener.  And did I mention it sharpens the pencil perfectly?  My old one will often sharpen one side of the point and not the other, or sharpen it into such a long point that it breaks off, or sharpen it into a dull point.

So, there you have it, my first ever product review.  (You can also find a review at Unposted.)  Troy, sorry it took me so long to get to it!  Readers, sharpen away.

2 thoughts on “a pencil sharpener that will not make you lose your mind

  1. I decided to just be done with pencils all together. I keep a handful for testing purposes, and the kids use pen for everything else. Yes, including math work. When it comes to writing I don’t want them to erase, I want them to learn to edit. When it comes to math I don’t want to erase because then I don’t see their thinking so thus cannot help them.

  2. Pingback: pencil problems « Elbows, knees, dreams

Leave a Reply

