take a few steps forward, take a few steps backward

I haven’t named any of my students so far this year, with the exception of Little One with her large personality, so it is high time.  I will start telling tales about this year’s class, and will name them all after colors.

When I arrived this morning, late, I looked through my classroom window and saw a meeting taking place.  Oh yes, I was supposed to have been there 15 minutes earlier to talk with the social worker, speech pathologist, and parents about little Blue and his speech therapy.  I’d forgotten all about it.  Very embarrassing.  But everyone was nice about my late arrival, and I really like Blue’s parents, and the good news was that we all agreed it’s time to evaluate him to see if we can take him off service.

Blue is small for his size, but confident, sparkly, and in love with school.  He often raises his hand to show off his English skills.  He tells me things in careful, clear sentences that he just might have practiced first, beaming the whole time.  He’s smart, and has good things to say, and is proud of himself.  Since I can understand him all the time, I agreed with the team that it’s time for him to end his speech therapy.

Late or not, it was a lovely way to start the day.

The morning ended, however, on a stressful note.  Little One kept almost losing it all morning, and kept being able to pull herself back together, until it was time to go home.  A series of little things which she couldn’t handle appropriately made her fall apart, more and more and more.  I had to call a social worker to come help.  The social worker ended up having to carry a screaming and kicking Little One onto the bus, where she and the driver then struggled to get her safely buckled up.

I called Dad to let him know, and then after I hung up, worried that she would get a spanking, which won’t help things at all.  I’m not sure what’s wrong, but she has been slipping backward for a few weeks now.

Leave a Reply

